General Mills is recalling 1.8 million boxes of Cheerios labeled “gluten free” that may contain wheat.
The voluntary recall is due to wheat contamination in the cereals which are sold as gluten free products.
The recall affects Cheerios and Honey Nut Cheerios that were made in July.
The firm put it was in fact card the main and pure honey kernel flavored styles of Cheerios generated on certain days at its Lodi, California ability, saying grain flour has been by chance included in its gluten-free oat flour structure along at the provision.
JPMorgan Chase analyst Ken Goldman said the recall affects about 1 percent of the Cheerios the company makes in a year, and it might make customers leery of trusting that the new Cheerios are really gluten-free. Consumers with wheat allergies, celiac disease, or gluten intolerance should not consume products bearing the affected code dates and should contact General Mills for a replacement or full refund.
Anyone who purchased original Cheerios with the “Better if used by” dates of July 14-17 of 2016 with the same “LD” following is asked to call the same number. “We will work extremely hard to earn back your trust”, according to a statement from the Cheerios Twitter handle. More information is available on the company’s web site.