The much-anticipated WhatsApp feature “Delete for Everyone” is finally rolling out which will now let you “unsend” your messages. It also works on WhatsApp web. The new feature “Delete for everyone” will allow users to recall their messages. Not just that, the feature works well for GIFs, images, voice messages, location, contact cards, quoted messages (in future) and status replies as well.
Delete For Me will delete the message from the sender’s phone only and not the recipient’s. If you are using Android then the notification shall change to “The message was deleted”.
– Message inside a quoted message can not be recalled. The objective just works for both the beneficiary and sender only if they have the most recent version of WhatsApp installed, the website states, and it likewise it also works on WhatsApp Web. This can be a particular problem for those of us who are part of multiple group chats with friends and family members, and are prone to sending unsavory content – accidentally select the wrong group, and you could find yourself in trouble.
WhatsApp message delete/ recall feature has been in the rumour mill for almost a year now, with the company mentioning it in the internal code. Note that these old builds where the delete for everyone feature wasn’t implemented should be all expired.
The website WABetaInfo, which is dedicated to uncovering upcoming WhatsApp functions, said a new version of the app for both iOS and Android will be rolled out today. Deleted messages will be supplanted by “This message was deleted for everybody”.
2- The feature will work only if both the sender and recipient are on the same version of WhatsApp and that version must support the new feature.
Right now, sent messages can be deleted only from the sender’s end, not from the recipient’s end. For starters, you must delete the message within a window of 7 minutes after sending it. You may try to reinstall WhatsApp from scratch but according to a few users, that doesn’t seem to do the trick just yet.
How WhatsApp “this message was deleted for everyone” feature works? Hence, you don’t need to worry about the other person being on the latest version.
The new update is one among the many new features introduced this year by the Facebook-owned company which is used daily by over a billion people.